Posted by: thebellalife | August 4, 2009

Seriously – The Perfect Man?

 

With my list of “Things to Do” in hand, I started down the path of running a constant string of errands (my Saturday morning ritual).  During this time, my sister called and asked if I would stop into Deseret Book to check the availability of a book.  I told her that would be my first stop, but by the time I pulled into the parking lot the name of the book and author completely escaped me.  The store was unusually busy; with a large population of teenage girls…who were all gathered around the one book display. I was mystified. This once growing circle of teenage girls now included their mothers(grown women), aunts and pretty much every women in the store.  I was astonished at the attention this one book display was getting.  I finally got my sister on the phone as I was approaching the multitude not realizing how loudly I was talking when I said, “Twilight? What?  Who is Stephanie Meyer?  Areyou sure?”     It was if TIME stood still at that very moment. My question rippled through the crowd. Everyone in the mob turned toward me looking in utter disbelief – Never heard of Twilight?  I almost felt un-American – Apparently I had fail to take notice. There was a new book in town and Harry Potter was running to take cover.

How could this be happening to me? I pride myself on keeping current with events, entertainment, books and music.   I asked my sister if she was sure. She confirmed, yes, she wanted me to pick up not only Twilight but also New Moon and Eclipse, all written by Stephanie Meyer. I made my way over to the Twilight display and coyly turned to one of the sales clerks and said…is this series of books really that good?  Once again, as if I had the power to suck the oxygen out of the air, a group of women my age turned to me and said we can sum up the Twilight series in two words – EDWARD CULLIN. For many of these dear women, this was an emotionally charged statement!  To them, Edward Cullin was the essence of the PERFECT MAN.

Edward Cullin, I had never heard of him but I decided I had more to get done than stand around a book display while these women compared notes on a fictional character named Edward Cullin – who, by the way, is a Vampire.  I almost left the books on the counter but, since Sara asked, I made my contribution the to the Twilight hysteria, took the three books and left the store.  The more I checked in with my friends, the more I experienced the whole Twilight phenomenon.  My friends either had read the series or like me had just started. Either way – everyone I knew was was “Twilighting”

I decided to take the Twilight series challenge and read the books…The more I read …the more I connected to each of the characters and Stephanie Meyer.  I found myself engrossed, absorbed and completely immersed. I found myself falling into a deep state of like with Edward Cullin, although fictional, he is the perfect man. Like all the vampires in the Twilight series, Edward is described as being impossibly beautiful. His skin is “like marble”—very pale, ice cold, and sparkles in the sunlight. His facial features are describe as being perfect and angular—high cheekbones, strong jaw line, a straight nose, and full lips. His hair, which is always messy, retains the unusual bronze shade that he inherited in his human life from his biological mother. His eyes, once green, are now described as topaz. His appearance changes if he goes long without feeding: his eyes darken, becoming almost black, and purple bruises appear beneath his eyes. Edward is 6’2″, and has a slender but muscular body.

 

 

 

Edward Cullin is the quintessential Renaissance man, he is absolutely gorgeous, fiercely protective, his timing is impeccable and his values timeless.  He was written to be the perfect (vampire) man.  There isn’t a woman I know who doesn’t want to hear, “You don’t know how long I have waited for you”,  “You are my life now”…..What woman doesn’t want to be unconditionally loved, protected and provided for?  Stephanie Meyer‘sgenius is her passion for the characters she so skillfully created.  Through her words, descriptions and events she singlehandedly brought Forks to life, along with Edward Cullin and the timeless love story we can’t seem to get enough of…in book form or at the box office.

The books were mesmerizing . The movie was captivating. Being a part of the Twilight frenzy was incredible. Edward Cullin came to life, literally on the big screen….his voice, charm and charisma was undeniable.  He is without a doubt the perfect man.  I couldn’t get enough. I wondered if the frenzy would ever subside. Luckily the answer to Twilight is NEW MOON….the highly anticipated sequel….

I smile when I pull myself back to reality, vampires, werewolves’, immortal love, all very tempting.  Is Edward Cullin the perfect man? In a fictional world – he is perfect. In my world, I believe there is an ideal man, out there for each of us.  One must never give up hope or the desire to uncover love.  Love has a way of finding you when you least expect it. Enjoy and embrace the love that finds you!

See you on the ~red carpet~ in November for the release of New Moon!

Live with intensity and purpose,

Carla

Leave a Reply

Categories

