Posted by: thebellalife | July 22, 2009

Easy Shredded Chicken Burritos

Crockpot

A couple of years ago I concocted a recipe for shredded chicken burritos.  This recipe is SO SIMPLE.  You just throw items you have on hand at your home into a crock pot (not so perfect for those “just in time” shoppers), run a couple of errands, return…and VOILA!  You have a meal everyone loves (I promise – no one has ever complained about this recipe).  Another thing I love about this recipe is that it is perfect for large gatherings.  There have been times when I have thrown 5-7 chicken breasts into the crock pot; with this many chicken breasts I was able to feed 12-15 people.  TRY IT OUT and let me know what you think.

Shredded Chicken Burritos

 

 Ingredients:

3-4 Chicken Breasts (frozen or thawed)

1/2-1 cup sliced yellow onion (if I don’t have onion on hand, add dried minced onion)

15 oz.  can of black or pinto beans

16 oz. can of salsa (if I don’t have salsa, I add 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes and a 4 oz. can of diced green chiles)

1/2-1 cup of sour cream (I like to used fat free)

Taco Seasoning, salt, pepper (to taste)

 

Throw chicken, onion, beans, salsa and sour cream into the crockpot.  Add a Tablespoon of taco seasoning.  (If the chicken is frozen, cook in crockpot on high for 3.5 hours. If chicken is thaw, cook on high for 1.5 hours.)

After chicken is done cooking, take the breasts out of the crockpot and shred them.  Then, throw chicken back in the crockpot.  Season with taco seasoning, salt and pepper to taste.

Like I said…if you don’t have all of these ingredients at home – No Problem!  Somedays I add corn, sliced green peppers, diced jalapenos, cumin, et cetera. 

Serve with tortillas, cheese and avacado (or throw it on a salad if you’d like).

Be creative and Enjoy!

Camberley

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

